Question regarding GPU and TV

Status
Not open for further replies.

janpwnz

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
Hi Tom's Hardware fellas

I have been a reader for a few months as i am trying to build a new rig. I am a beginner in the field therefore i have a few questions to ask which i couldn't find the answers from google. I have only bought a i7-950 and 6gb of 1600mhz rams 9cas (3x2gb) i am planning to buy the rest in a couple of weeks. My planned spec would be as follow

CPU: i7-950 (bought)
Mobo: sabertooth x58
Mem: 3x2 gb hyperx 1600mhz 9cas (bought)
GPU: 1 or 2x 5850 radeon
PSW: 800+ sli ready

My questions are:
1.) I currently own a pretty old 720p (i bought it when it first came out lolz) 32" tv which i plan to use as the monitor as well. It seems that the 5850 alone will support 1080p let alone the crossfire. Therefore should i upgrade my tv aswell?

2.) I am only building this for casual gaming. (SCII, DiabloIII when it comes out and maybe some shooting game) Should i get crossfire or not?

I need some guidances and thanks for the help :D

Solution
I'd say your defnitly set with a 5850 and an i7,should last you 3 years or more.And if you need to you could add another card for crossfire if needed.

Although buying a monitor is cheaper i think it's a better investment to buy a 1080p TV.Gaming on a huge screen is extremely fun,espisally HD ones...

EDIT:just realized you had a PS3 and an Xbox360,all of that put together means that you definitly should get a 1080p TV,it's a trifecta!
Since your a casual gamer i would say no you do not need to crossfire.

I would upgrade to a 1080p TV,the 5850 should have no problem playing Blizzard games at high settings on a 1080p resoultion and some casual shooters.Is the TV you use only for the mointor or do you watch TV on it?

This rig your building looks pretty serious,espisally for a "casual" gamer.

jprahman

Distinguished
May 17, 2010