New GPU suggestions, dual widescreen monitor setup.

deadpool405

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
I would first like to thatnk everyone for helping me choose a video card for my pc. Let's get the details out of the way...
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Dual Core
4GB RAM
GPU - ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro
Main Board - MS-7260 Chipset nVidia nForce 550
500 Watt power supply

I recently upgraded to widescreen dual monitors I got from a friend along with this current video card after my video card blew some caps (it was an nVidia 8600GT XXX)
I am looking to upgrade my current card to something that i can play games on (mostly FPS games) and still have dual monitors. I am looking to keep the price lower than $100, any suggestions?

PS. I am new to dual monitor setup. Is it best to use my current card for one of the monitors and get a separate card for the other or just use one card for both? The card I currently have has an adapter to plug into it which has dvi inputs on it, I do not know the type of input on the card itself that the adapter plugs into, this is why I am confused.

Edit: I was looking at these cards but do not know if they could support dual monitors.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814261059

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150475

I would get a completely different card from these listed if someone out there says it would be best, so I am not stuck on these.

Edit 2: Just to clear something up, I am comfortably fine with playing games on just one monitor, not both, just like both while not gaming.

TheTrueGamer

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2008

deadpool405

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
Thank you! Is is worth the extra $10 to get the one with the helicopter as a fan? I se it is 1gig but was wondering if you knew if it was worth it.

Edit: Also, I read that you would need one monitor with HDMI and the other with DVI, would it be ok to use an HDMI to DVI cable to my 2nd monitor?

TheTrueGamer