Sign in with
Your question

HTPC - reuse old computer

Last response: in Systems
March 12, 2011 2:23:15 AM

I just need a nudge in the right direction. I'm new to the whole HTPC deal but i have an computer that is going to be freed up soon and turned into a HTPC machine. The only problem is im not sure what type of card\sound i should get to make it work.

Its going to be mainly used for streaming netflix and hulu, bluerays\DVDs, as well as some .avi files etc etc..

Computer:
Antec 900 case
Corsair 650w Power supply
MOBO ASUS P5Q Pro LGA http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz
8GB of Ram
2 500GB hard drives
Currently has an ASUS EAH4870 DK/HTDI/1GD5 Radeon HD 4870 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

It will be plugging into a Pioneer Kuro 50 inch plasma (model PDP-5020FD) 1920 x 1080p.

Anyone have any guides to read on how to make this work? or other components i need to pick up. The end user hates tearing or video delay lag if that maters.

Thank you again for your help!

More about : htpc reuse computer

a b B Homebuilt system
March 12, 2011 12:58:16 PM

Firstly, welcome to the HTPC crowd here at Tom's.

Is there going to be a receiver in the mix or is the video and audio going straight to the TV?

It looks like you have all of the necessary parts, with the exception of a blu-ray drive. BTW, newegg is having a sale on all BD drives this weekend: 15% off with coupon code EMCYTZT345

You'll also need blu-ray playback software. XBMC will play blu-rays... no menu support or BD-live though, but it's free. PowerDVD and TotalMedia Theatre are the two most popular commercial players that have full BD support and both integrate nicely in Windows Media Center.