Noob Need Help on gaming CPU

jdm4936

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2011
I am new to building computers and to be frank last week I knew amlmost nothing when it came to any internal component, however I have been spending a significant amount of time researching because I want to build a gaming rig. I was originally going to make a purchase off cyberpower pc. Then i realized why would I pay someone to do something I could do myself. I was briefly a mac snob but realized how I wanted to start truly gaming again. I am currently torn between the i5 2600 and the i7 2600. In your guys oppinions what cpu is currently best for gaming and minor video editing, dvd ripping burning, etc. My main priority will be gaming. (skyrim and star wars the old republic) Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

ares1214

Splendid
I think you mean the i5 2500K. I would go with that, its a fantastic value, and about $100 cheaper. Heres an overview of performance between the i5 2500K and the i7 2600K:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/287?vs=288

Only real difference are a higher clock speed on the 2600K, which means nothing once both are OC'ed, and Hyperthreading, which isnt that useful anyway, least of all for gaming. In short, 2500K is $100 cheaper for the same gaming performance, $100 you can use for a better GPU. Im looking forward to those games too, those and BFBC3 :D

jdm4936

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2011
Haha thank you again brand new to hardware. I will be planning on overclocking it around 10-20 percent. Will overclocking it decrease its longevity and would liquid cooling be necessary.

A modest 2500K OC, say to 4.0 is easy, and is all you need. Actually, stock is all you need, the chip is that good.
The chip will be obsolete before it wears out if you do not aggressively increase the OC voltage. Leave it on auto, and only increase the max multiplier to 40 or so.
Air cooling is fine.
An aftermarket cooler like the CM hyper212 will do the job, and is cheap.

jdm4936