$2000ish gaming build- advice most welcome

MannyB

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2010
I'm building a gaming PC for a friend, since her crappy off-the shelf HP died recently, and I'm looking for some advice, since this is my first time buidling a PC from scratch (I've only upgraded and repaired a few systems in the past). Her budget is about $2000-$2300 Aussie dollars, which doesn't buy you quite as much in Australia as overseas since we tend to pay a premium for the latest hardware. I plan to build the system within the next two weeks or so, whenever I can get my hands on my preferred motherboard - it's a Sandy Bridge, and I've been told about two weeks for the revised B3-stepping boards to come into some of the local stores. Unfortunately it's a bit too fiddly to link to all the places I'm planning on buying from, as I've had to shop around a lot to get the lowest prices, and they're all local stores in my state or online retailers based in Aus - I've tried very hard to find the lowest prices possible.

Basic rundown of what I'm looking for:

Budget: About $2000-$2300 Aussie dollars

System usage: primarily gaming, including resource-intensive games eg. Crysis, Fallout: NV, Metro 2033; also for web-surfing and word-processing; no large amounts of video encoding or anything able to take advantage of more cores / threads

Parts not required: keyboard and speakers

Parts preferences: Intel for the processor, since that's what I'm most familiar with, plus the fact that Sandy Bridge seems to be the best choice for high-end machines at this point; Nvidia for the graphics, since she wants to use PhysX and maybe Stereoscopic 3D in the future (can't afford at 3D monitor at the moment); 2TB hard drive minimum; 1920x1080 full HD monitor (22"-24"); full tower case for the extra airflow.