Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Games lag randomly

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 8, 2011 9:52:54 AM

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting so please bear with me. I usually do find the answers to my questions on this site but I'm now tired of searching aimlessly.

I'm getting random lags in games. Like I'll be playing at high FPS for about 15 mins then all of a sudden the FPS drops to like 15-18. It will stay like this for about 20-25 seconds before going back to normal. I'm currently playing Assasins Creed 2 on max settings at 1440x900, but this is not the only game this happens to. It does not matter what game I'm playing. Be it old or new.

My specs are:

MB: Asus M2N68AM - Plus
CPU: Athlon II X2 240
GPU: XFX GeForce® 9800 GT Copper
RAM: 3GB at 800 MHZ

I hope I posted this in the correct area.

More about : games lag randomly

January 8, 2011 10:09:10 AM

Can you run GPU-Z or Everest Ultimate in the background while gaming, and make sure they are logging all details. Sounds like when my GPU would randomly drop to 2D mode, and then fire back up into 3D performance mode. 2D mode on GPUs have a much lower core clock which effects your gameplay greatly.

Other reasons for this could be a bottleneck by your CPU. Are you running anything in the background when this happens? Or have anti-virus such as norton, as some anti-virus randomly try to auto-update and I know norton for one does take like 90% CPU power trying to find new updates.
m
l
January 8, 2011 7:34:34 PM

Hi acer0169,