Damienyoung

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2011
I am going to be making a custom desktop, and I am new to the whole building it from scratch thing. I have had custom PC's made before but I need advice from you guys concerning my new build.
The background is I have a recently deceased desktop due to an unknown problem (IT technician said it was either the motherboard, CPU, RAM or VGA. I am need of a new PC which will be used for Voice recognition and occasional high end gaming.
Here are my thoughts, and I am open to suggestions for modifications. (Although it would be great if the modified hardware was from this site http://www.cpl.net.au/pdf/page1.pdf )

Intel i7 970 Hexa-core CPU
Asus Rampage-III-Formula MOBO
Corsair 16G 1333Mhz
Western Digital 1TB Harddrive
Sapphire 2G HD697 VGA
Intel Pro/1000 Gigabit PCI Network Card
Antec TP 750W PSU
Samsung Blu-Ray Combo 12
NZXT Phantom Case Black

Possible future upgrades include a 2nd VGA card for crossfire (triple monitors), and depending on audio quality of the onboard, an audio card.

Also... I found a really good site explaining how to put together the computer, and I was wondering if someone could post me a link to detailed walkthough.
Thanks in advance

chef7734

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2009

I would go with an xfx 6970 if you are going with the 6970. It has a better warranty ( double lifetime) and oc and cooler change friendly. You dont really need the network card do you? I would also probably get a lite-on blue ray burner over a combo drive.
blueray burner
xfx 6970

Oh and if you are not doing a lot of things that can take advantage of the 6 cores then I would not spend the extra money.

Damienyoung

Distinguished
Mar 13, 2011
Since I am probably not going to be overclocking anything, what do you recommend?