Draw Distance in Assassin's Creed 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xanorak

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2011
Hello, just recently I started playing Assassin's Creed 2 again. It was already previously installed, and I had stopped playing it for a long time. I installed Resident Evil 5 and was a zombie for a few weeks, then started a new game on AC2.

After a while, I noticed that details and shadows were popping in only when I was near and looking at them. At first, I thought it was nothing. But as I progressed, it became more and more noticeable. Trees, bushes, and even leaves on the ground would drop in as I ran along. It's extremely distracting, and I'm really really REALLY sure I never noticed that before, in AC1 or AC2.

So I searched it up online, to see if anyone else had that problem. It seems many people were complaining about the draw distance, and there were a few threads about it. Most of the responses were "It's a console port so it's expected", but one guy actually said he hadn't noticed it before either.

There were other threads I stumbled upon that were not only about Assassin's Creed, but about all games having poor view distance. Most replies were "update your drivers, reinstall, reset your Nvidia Control Panel settings" and other stuff. None of these threads were resolved in the end, and none of the methods worked. One thing I noticed though, a few people said it might be because of a failing graphics card, correct me if I'm wrong. I truly hope this is not the case, and I hadn't noticed any draw distance issues on other games. If there was any, it's rather slight. I only tested a few games, but I'll try testing the more big scale, open world ones next time.