Sign in with
Your question

Are my temps too high for an oc'ed i7 2600k

Last response: in CPUs
June 14, 2011 10:59:58 AM

literally just built this yesterday, and looking at other peoples overclocks, oc'ed mine straight to 4.5ghz stable (seemingly). however i have a noctua nh-d14 which is supposed to be one of the best cpu coolers if not the best available, yet other people report having like mid 20's idle and i have mid 30's.

ambient temp is 20.8 and cpu is 34 degrees Celsius. is this bad? i am gonna post a screenshot of voltages in a sec. Also, im new to intel, i came from amd, so i was literally just looking at other peoples overclocks for voltage help etc, primarily this site:

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2011/01/03/intel-...

in the table down the bottom, 4th row down. I have not gone as high as their voltages as my oc is only 4.5ghz, i have gone pretty much halfway between stock and their voltages on all of them, apart from dram.

im running 16gb 2133mhz cas9 lol ;) 

More about : temps high 2600k

a b à CPUs
June 14, 2011 11:31:25 AM

I wouldn't worry too much about idle temps being off from other folk's temps....

Run a few instances of Prime95 and/or SuperPi....

In 30 minutes, you'll know your 'at 100% load' temps...

(yes, your Noctua is pretty close to being 'king' at the moment)
June 14, 2011 11:38:44 AM

as this screenie depicts, i have just noticed my mobo claims my cpu is much higher than the 34 degrees i stated earlier, which is what both coretemp and realtemp said. this has just gone up to 36 by the way still idle, with an ambient of 21 degrees.

anywho here are my voltages.

http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/9959/110614120728.pn...

so. is this a normal temperature? or should i reseat my noctua? Perhaps the thermal paste was too thick?

Related resources
June 14, 2011 11:43:21 AM

mdd1963 said:
I wouldn't worry too much about idle temps being off from other folk's temps....

Run a few instances of Prime95 and/or SuperPi....