Sign in with
Your question

Video Artifacts / Crashes - Multiple Video Cards

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 9, 2011 11:37:02 PM

As long as I've had this computer, I've experienced video artifacts and crashes when playing games. I initially put the blame on the games (Oblivion and Fallout 3), as I have experienced problems with these games on other computers in the past. When I started playing other games (World of Warcraft, Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, Thief: Deadly Shadows, etc.), however, I started having the same issues, and decided to contact Sapphire about the video card I was using at the time (Radeon 4890.) I ended up RMAing that card, but had the same problem with the new one I received.

I have since tried a brand new card (Radeon 5850), and an older card (Radeon 3870), and experience the same issue with both of those cards. Additionally, I have run all three cards in a different computer with no issues. I have completely removed old drivers each time I have swapped video cards, and have also tried with and without the onboard video enabled. I have tried cards in both PCI-E slots on the motherboard, but have the same issue in both. I have done no overclocking of any kind. I have monitored CPU and Video Card temperatures while playing games and neither exceeds 65°C. I get artifacts even when running the games on their lowest settings.

I have tried swapping the power supply in the problem computer with the power supply that I knew ran the cards successfully in the second computer, but still had the same issue with the problem computer.

I have updated the motherboard BIOS three times since building the computer. The only time that games have ever run without issue for me is when I use only the onboard video, but this is obviously limiting.

I have uploaded videos below of the type of artifacts I'm seeing. They are often much worse, but I can't force the issue to happen, and this was the best I could capture in a brief run.