Sign in with
Your question

Help!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
June 16, 2011 4:28:40 PM

OK. this is my first post here cuz i need help, couldent find anything on google etc

my laptop is a acer aspire 5515

and problems are: 45 min= an hour startup and constant freezing.

ive had this computer for 4 years and there hasnt been a problem this big
Even after it starts up everything is still non responsive like. if i click something it feezes up the whole system and then comes up a min later
after an hour or so i try to watch a youtube vid and the vid freezes every 2 sec with the sound at a hang liek a scratched CD
ive tryed a few fixes i know but i am not an expert
like re-applying the thermal paste BEcuz the laptop was very hot and that helped the overheating prob but everything else still occurs

I tryed the last measure -- INSTALL A NEW WINDOWS -- still the same so im thinking its a hardware prob
i checked CPU and its not the prob cuz it never really reaches 100% so it seems ok
its not the RAM cuz i have 3GB and its never ful

Full Specs:
1.6Ghz AMD athlon 64
3GB DDR2 Ram
X1200 Radon mobility
160GB Hitachi @ 7200

More about : question

a c 159 à CPUs
June 16, 2011 4:47:54 PM

You can try a laptop cooler with 2-3 fans; they cost $15 sometimes much less with rebate. You can also try some canned air solvent to clean everything up inside. If your board is going out, you may need a new laptop. Laptop boards are proprietary and very expensive; power supply could also have the heat issue.
June 16, 2011 4:49:23 PM

thanks but overheating isnt the prob cuz i fixed it with thermal paste
Related resources
a b à CPUs
June 16, 2011 5:28:35 PM

What do you mean by "fixed it with thermal paste"? If you don't know your temperatures, don't assume it isn't overheating.
a c 134 à CPUs
June 16, 2011 7:58:50 PM

Test the harddrive
June 18, 2011 12:04:03 AM

kajabla said: