Sign in with
Your question

Monitor wont display after installing new video card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 11, 2011 11:57:15 PM

Ok, i just recieved today my new video card which is a Saphire Radeon 4670
I took out my old video card, put the new one in, and attempted to start it up but nothing happened. In fact, I think my PSU has gotten louder and the fan began to become real loud.

I have it installed in the exact same place my old card was.

my computer specs are as follows:
Dell Dimensions 8400
3.0 p4
3.5 gigs of ram (4gig installed)
Dynex 400w psu

If any one has any suggestions, please let me know. I am a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff so please be gentle haha
a c 1410 U Graphics card
a c 103 C Monitor
January 12, 2011 12:02:19 AM

What was the old card?
Did you uninstall the old card in device manager before you put in the new card? If so it sounds like your Dynex is struggling.
m
l
January 12, 2011 12:10:05 AM

I did not uninstill the old card, which is something that I will try. I was told that my dynex could handle this card in a previous posting on here. Since the noise coming from my PSUis the fans, is this card then too much for my PSU? It says it requires minimal 400w psu.
m
l
Related resources
a c 1410 U Graphics card
a c 103 C Monitor
January 12, 2011 12:13:04 AM

A 400watt psu should be plenty for the card!
m
l
January 12, 2011 12:29:06 AM

Like i said, I did not uninstall the old video card. It was a Radeon x1300. Also, I read that I needed to plug my monitor into the onboard video card that originally came with the computer However, I cannot find an appropriate place to plug it into. Can I unstill the old card, though device manager and all that, do I then install the drivers from the CD, turn computer off, then physically install the new video card? I am thinking that maybe I am just not doing something right here...
m
l
a c 1410 U Graphics card
a c 103 C Monitor
January 12, 2011 12:42:09 AM