Which CPU is better between these two?

PeteG_22

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2011
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie.

I'm going to build my own computer, and I want to have the CPU for at least 5-6 years.
Which is better for the long run, a Phenom II X6 1100T or a Core i5 2500K?
I want to O.C. the CPU at 4.0 GHz
I know the Core i5 2500K has better performance per MHz, and it has the new instructions AVX. But I heard that since it only has 4 cores, the Phenom II X6 would be a better option in the long run, because games are becoming more multi-threaded, and when a game demands 4 cores 100% utilization, then the additional 2 cores would be useful to manage the O.S. and off-load some work of the other 4 cores (I'm talking about games heavy multi-threaded like Bad Company 2, or Microsoft Flight Simulator X). I also like video editing, and the extra 2 cores would be useful in that.
I don't want to change the CPU in a short time, I only want to change the Videocard, when it doesn't perform well any more.

So, what do you think please give some advice.

Here's the configuration that I plan to buy.

CPU: Core i5 2500K or Phenom II X6 1100T
Motherboard: ASUS, GIGABYTE, MSi, $150
Aftermarket cooler for the CPU: CoolerMaster
Thermal compound: Artic Silver 5
RAM: 2 x 4GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX, Corsair XMS, Mushkin Enhanced
HDD: 2TB SATA-2 7200 rpm Seagate or WD.
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti or GTX 570
PSU: 80 Plus 650W-700W OCZ
2 x DVDRW
Monitor: LED 23" Samsung Synchmaster

You should still go 2500K. The 6950 is a better deal in your GPU price range; the 560 ti is a little overpriced and the 570 is a little past the point of ridiculous prices.
For the PSU: are you planning SLI/Xfire in the future? If so, go with a good 750, but if not, get a 500W.
24" monitor, lol. Cooler.

There are several articles and videos of a Phenom II X6 getting overclocked to 4.0GHz last year. Unfortunately, of the ones I've checked out none had any benchmarks. You can try Googling...