Sign in with
Your question

PC won't boot - PSU keeps switching on and off

Last response: in Motherboards
February 20, 2012 3:30:37 PM

Hi guys! I haven't been able to get an answer anywhere else and all the search results I've found haven't aided me in this problem yet. I'm here now since there's pretty much no where else to look.

I built the system in questions in 2009. Roughly 2 months ago I encountered a problem where the PSU would continually 'click' on and off after pressing the power button. It will continually do this in intervals (on, off, on, off) at the same time until I switch the PSU off. The fans will spin briefly until the PSU clicks off. I would think of this as being a short somewhere, but I'm no expert. When this occured, I decided to replace the MOBO, CPU and RAM. That fixed the problem. Now just a week or so ago, the same problem returned!

I figured it couldn't be the MOBO since I just replaced that and look how long the old one lasted, so I bought a new Inland Gold 600w PSU and a refurbed hard drive. I installed both and the problem still exists!

Current hardware is Core i5-2500k, 2x4g Kingston RAM, gtx260 superclocked edition card, WD Caviar Blue HD 500gb, gigabyte Z68AP-D3 mobo.

Things I've tried
============
Swapping the 2 RAM sticks in all configurations with one another.
Compression to the CPU cooler in hopes that it wasn't properly seating the CPU.
Have checked most, if not all connections for tightness.
Different hard drive.
New PSU.

More about : boot psu switching

February 20, 2012 3:37:40 PM

1) Either The PSU is excessively dirty or the PSU is no longer good
I don't recommend cleaning them
2) your wiring is shorted shunting power at the PSU make sure all connections are connected properly you should hear a click when connectors are properly connected
3)***Inspect the case for any intermittent contact with a power source especially at the start and reset button ***