Did i make a good choice on my upgrade?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fearsyn

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2011
I recently took a step to upgrade my Graphics card. I went from a XFX 5850 Black Edition to a XFX 6950 2GB card. I'm not too tech savvy, but i know how to compare spec numbers as well as do some basic comparison searches. If you are wondering what my full system spec's were before the upgrade i will tell you. Keep in mind the only thing i changed out is JUST the graphics card. Here it goes.

Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
ASRock X58 Extreme Motherboard LGA 1366
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB 1600 RAM
XFX Radeon HD 5850 (Cypress Pro) 1GB Black Edition
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
Sunbeam PSU-ECO750-US-BL 750W ATX12V 2.3 80 PLUS Certified
LG 24" 1080p Monitor

let me know what you think please, as well as maybe some other recommended changes.

Solution
I reference this guide any time I can- it is a great, fairly concise explanation of the process of how to overclock your cpu. I had a Dell for a long time so was locked out from the wonderful world of overclocking (other than a small increase from a Q6600 pin mod). When I built an i7-950 rig a few months ago I was so excited that I wanted to just skip to the part where you get all that free performance without going through the process- this guide was very enlightening as far as finding the limits of your bclock, memory, and totaly system performance. Follow these steps and enjoy the process- it will give you a better end result than just punching in figures from another user (each piece of silicon is different and yours may be...
The change from the 5850 to the 6950 isn't a very big jump to be honest. Depending on game title, it looks like there's a 10-15FPS difference. In one game the 5850 was actually faster. Although that could easily be an issue of needing optimized drivers.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2010/12/16/ati-radeon-hd-6950-review/1