Sign in with
Your question

Beginner trying to build, $800-$1000 budget

Last response: in Systems
March 19, 2011 2:48:21 PM

Hi, I'm a total newbie at this but I've had this idea to try doing my own set-up for some time already and have started reading (at least, tried to, since there were a lot of things that I have not understood sadly). I would be very happy if I could be able to have a functional(? working?) understanding of stuff but, if not, I'm totally fine with being able to build a satisfactory machine (given your recommendations). Also, um, I'm saying sorry in advance if ever I ask annoying newbie questions... and ask a lot of them. >_>;;

Erm, anyways, regarding the questions, here are my answers:

Approximate Purchase Date: Sometime March/April, so that would be from 2 weeks to a month of data gathering (AKA asking around for prices and best hardware choices). :) 

Budget Range: Formally, $800 - $1,000 but of course, if I could get a cheaper total, that would be great and I would also prefer a total nearer to $800. :D  I mean, I do understand that I should spend to get, if not exceptional, then quality performance but since the prices would remain estimates until I actually buy the part and since there's a chance that a part could cost me more than the estimate, if the total's near my lower budget bracket, I would have some budget space for the difference.

System Usage from Most to Least Important:

- 2D and 3D Animation/Graphic/Video editing and Web Development (for work) -- programs I run usually are Adobe CS5 PS/AI/ID/DW/Flash/CF, Maya 2010, AutoCAD, MS Visual Studio 2010 (for ASP.NET mostly, which means I need an OS that has IIS7 for local testing), Flipbook (occasionally), and of course, the usual web browsers (IE 8/9, FF, Safari, Chrome, and Opera).