Upgradability Questions for New Build (gaming later but not yet)

NJC

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2011
Hello,

This is my first build with $900 max budget for now, but with the ability to upgrade a few months in the future to add missing/lacking components. My primary goal is to have a Sandy Bridge desktop that will soon be capable of playing modern games at good framerates (once I get more money set aside). Until then, it will be used for office applications and light graphics/design work, internet surfing/youtube.

There are some great deals on NCIX.com (canadian site) and as a result I am under budget and don't mind staying under budget. My main concern is to do this RIGHT so that I can upgrade properly in the future. The budget wiggle room I have at the moment means if something doesn't quite work in this setup I can change it easily even if that means more money.

My proposed build, for $737 (before tax and MIRs, shipping is free):

Intel Core i5 2500 Quad Core Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB
ASUS P8P67 LE ATX LGA1155 P67 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 3PCI IDE USB3.0 Sandy Bridge B3 Motherboard
Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Full Tower Gaming Case ATX 12 Drive Bay No PS Top USB3.0 USB Audio
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Edition 64BIT DVD OEM
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM 3.5IN SATA Internal Hard Drive OEM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory
OCZ FATAL1TY Series 750W ATX 24PIN SLI Ready Modular Cables 135mm Red Fan 80+ Bronze Power Supply

I plan to eventually add one, and then two, graphics cards in either SLI or CrossfireX, and possibly more RAM.