Wireless Bridge Setup Help

cgwu

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2010
I am a complete noob at networking and would appreciate any help/advice you guys can offer.

I currently live in an apartment complex which offers free wireless for two devices. I registered the mac address of my desktop pc and can connect to the wireless network using a usb wireless adapter. I was told by the apartment manager that I can register a router as my second device in order to connect my ps3, xbox, wii, laptop, etc to the router.

I bought a router and all my attempts of connecting it to the wireless network has failed. The instructions and installation CD assume I'm using a wall connection/modem so it is unclear to me how to connect my router to the apartment complex's wireless network (their router).

After doing some more digging, geeksquad kindly told me that I need a wireless bridge to pull in the wireless signal, and then connect the router to the bridge. I now have the Cisco WET61N bridge and the Cisco E1000 router but still have difficulty in setting things up.

I'm not sure which device I need to configure first. I tried either one and the setup CD was not useful because again, it assumes I'm using a wall connection. Do I need to manually configure both devices in order to have it hooked up to apartment's wireless network? If anyone has any ideas and can provide me with some simple instructions I would really appreciate it. I've wasted so much time messing with this already :(

KingArcher

Distinguished
May 19, 2010
The first device you have to setup is the wireless bridge.
Reset WET610N by pressing the reset button on the back for 5 seconds.

■ Connect a computer to the Ethernet port of the wireless bridge.
Wait for a minute or until the computer says that it has a limited connectivity for the local area network.
At this point you should be able to Run the CD which came with the wireless bridge to assist you further. Or