CPU has gone up in flames..almost

Hey guys,
I was writing a rather long winded detailed tale of woe as my CPU just failed on me. I will try again, but keep it shorter.
I have been running an AMD X4 940 CPU for the last 3 years. It has performed very well and I've been quite pleased with my purchase.
I was running this under a TRU in push-pull which also performed great. I read reviews about the Spire Thermax II, still rated #1 for AMD at Frostytech. I decided to get it, as I needed the TRU for another build.
It was hate at first sight. Stupid mounting hardware and the most idiotic and useless fan retention system I've ever seen. I decided to give it a go anyway. My temps were a bit higher (from 33 idle to 45ish load to 38 idle and 50 load), but I figured it may be because I only used the one fan. I lowered my OC from 3.6 to 3.4 so I wouldn't have to worry about temps.
About a week ago, I noticed my temps rising. I was running about 40's idle and loads in the 50's. The other day it got worse, with idling temps soaring.
I decided I needed to inspect things and clear out the dust bunnies. Without too much detail, I tested everything and cleaned it all out and check the TIM (which was fine) cleaned the heatsink and reseated. All of a sudden I couldn't keep the machine on for more than 5 minutes without it shutting down from reaching 60C at idle. This was after adding a second fan in pull position and turning the exhaust fan to high speed.
I ran some more tests and determined it was the CPU that suddenly had out of control thermals. I wanted to share this because it is not something I've encountered before and I've not seen this on the forums. Although I've heard people claim their CPU is non-functional and had out of control thermals, there always seemed to be a root cause for this. I now have a Sempy 140 2.7 Ghz single core that idles near room temp and gets to a measly 32C maxed out. Which doesn't take much!! :(