bl4ckninj4

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2011
Hey all.

I'm a network engineer studying for the CCIE Routing & Switch lab.

I'm going to use Dynamips/Dynagen to emulate the routers (around 10), and connect to real Cisco 3550/3560 switches.

Dynamips is very CPU intensive, so need some advise on what you think is better suited for the job - bang per buck

I'll be running just OpenBSD & Dynamips/dynagen (no gui, cli only) & connecting to it via SSH

Choices, I'd be running Raid 0 SCSI & at least 6 GB RAM

HP Proliant server:

4 x Xeon 3.2 GHZ (single core cpus), 4MB L2[q[/quote]
4 x Xeon 3.0 GHZ (single core cpus), 4MB L2
8 x Xeon 3.0 GHZ (single core cpus), 4MB L2
2 x Dual Core AMD 2.2Ghz
4 x AMD Opteron 852 2.6hz - 1 MB L2

Dell PowerEdge 860
1 x Xeon Quad Core - 2.4 GHZ

Or I could upgrade a BOX I'm using for FreeNAS 8

MB - gigabtye GA-G31M-S2L

could upgrade cpu to Core™ 2 Quad Q9650 but would cost the same as buying one the above boxes (except the 8 CPU box)

The most important question: Is a machine running 4 single CPUs just or nearly as fast as one running 2 x dual core or 1 x quad if they all where say 3.0GHZ. Or are they in a totally different performance level all together?

Many thanks in advance :hello:

lucasrivers

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2011
I don't know about the boxes above, but i can say that 4 separate single-core CPU's will run faster then, 2x dual-core or 1 quad-core. Both dual-core and quad-core processors have one clock speed, not one for each core.

Where as 4 single-core CPU's have separate clock speeds, which in the and will result in a faster mechine.

I could be wrong though.

Timop

Distinguished
The single core Xeons are all netbursts, so the best performance out of the bunch would be the Xeon @2.4Ghz with the dual Opteron being a little behind.

With highly threaded apps, a core is a core, so no matter its 2*2 or 1*4, performance would be almost the same, give or take for some interconnect bottlenecks.