Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First Build Ever for me...

Last response: in Systems
March 19, 2011 4:00:44 PM

Hello,

I'm sorry if this seems repetitive, as i'm sure you have all answered so many of these questions. This is my first build I have done, and I am learning (slowly...) how everything works. I do not know of anyone who has any experience doing this, so here I am!
My end goal is to have a build that can play Battlefield 3 on high settings (not ultra high, but high). I figure that if I have this as a goal, everything else that I could want will be in place as well.
If you could just take a quick glance at my specs so far that I plan on ordering, could anyone just tell me if these parts would do the trick? Could I go for something cheaper in some areas? Also, I believe that everything will work well together, but if there is some problem please let me know! Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance for any reply's!

Specs:
CPU- Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard- Asus P8P67 (Rev 3.0)
Video- Radeon 5870
Sound- (Running off of motherboard until i get more $$)
Ram- Corsair 4GB
Hard Drive- Western Digital Caviar 500 GB
Power- Cooler Master Gx Series 650W
Case- Cooler Master HAF 922

More about : build

March 19, 2011 6:56:36 PM

Doesnt seem to be any prob there mate ;)  That machine would be fine for gaming
m
l
March 19, 2011 11:20:04 PM

good stuff, but chose a different power supply. heres a review of that psu http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/11/22/cooler_master...
the 750w model http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Cooler-Master-GX...
Get a power supply from antec, seasonic, corsair or ocz and you will be much better off. Always find a review of the PSU you are going to buy from a reliable reviewer like johnnyguru, hardwaresecrets, or hardocp. the review should have load, noise, ripple tests at the very least.
m
l
Related resources
March 21, 2011 5:22:23 PM