Sign in with
Your question
Closed

PC to Samsung TV connection problem

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 19, 2011 6:13:30 PM

Hello,

I have had my computer hooked up to my tv for quite some time, one day I went to use it and the display on the samsung tv stayed black when the cord was plugged in. I assumed it was a problem with the cord and bought a new one.

However, I am still having the same problem with the new cord! Help! Did settings get switched around somehow? I am not very tech savvy so I'm not sure how to check this, it just "magically" worked the first time!
January 19, 2011 6:25:01 PM

There could easily be a couple problems. It could be your video card in the PC died. It could be the TV died. Or, it could be EXTREMELY simple and you just need to change the Video Input setting on the TV (this tells the TV which video input/plug to use).

Questions for you:
1) Does your PC have another monitor? If so, do you get a picture there?
2) Do you have anything else connected to this TV? If so, do you get a picture from other components? (i.e. DVD player, VCR, Satellite TV, etc)
3) What type of "cable" are you using to connect the PC to the TV? (HDMI, VGA, DVI, S-Video, 'RCA' red, white, yellow)
Score
January 19, 2011 10:08:48 PM

1) No, I don't have another monitor.
2) Nothing else is connected to the tv. However, it still displays the "PC" box which tells me what the source is. After that though, it just stays black and the light and the bottom (blue light on samsung) keeps blinking. When it is displaying/reading something, usually the light just stays on. Also, I don't have cable but if I change over to regular tv, it still displays the fuzz.
3) The cable is a VGA "Male to male" cord, and I use a separate audio cord for sound.

So I am not sure! I'm stumped!
Score
Related resources
January 19, 2011 10:35:29 PM