What's the best way for 3.8ghz on PII 955?

Moonfrost

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2009
As the title suggests, I would like to know what's the best way to overclock my CPU to 3.8ghz, mostly on the voltage side of things...

For starters I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212+ cooling it, I overclocked the CPU to 3.7ghz just upping the multiplier on the bios (MSI 880gm E-41) without changing the voltage (which is grayed out, and it says "auto") and then did a Cinebench cpu test which lasts...like 10 minutes or more, was at 100% and no problems whatsoever.

I then ran a Prime95 torture test (blend test) for about an hour (I know, not too long) and stopped it as I didn't see any issues at all, computer was responsive, no bsod, no errors of any kind and the temps were only about 43c-45c.

I would like to take the cpu that little extra mile but I read that in order for the PII 955 to be able to get to 3.8ghz I would have to up the voltage, now the voltage settings on my bios are grayed out and I would like to know what do I have to change to be able to up the voltage if needed.

Take note that cpu-z says my voltage is 1.425, I have heard the default voltage is supposed to be lower than that for this CPU yet I have NEVER changed anything before today.

Please take note also that I'm kinda of a noob on overclocking so don't bash on me.

I'd like to know if I have to raise my voltage or if that should be fine for 3.8ghz

Thanks in advance.

cuecuemore

Distinguished
Hmm, that's weird that your voltage is at 1.425 with no tweaks. But if your mobo set it to that, you might want to try adjusting it manually, as some folks occasionally hit 3.7Ghz on stock (1.35)volts. Did you check what your voltage was at stock multiplier? If not, check that to see if it changes. You should be able to hit 3.8 with 1.425 no problem, probably less.

Moonfrost

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2009