Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New Gaming Build

Last response: in Systems
March 24, 2011 4:16:17 PM

I have never built a computer before, but I have been planning a new computer for about 4-5 months. Below is the result of my planning.

I beseech the distinguished Tom’s community for any comments or criticism that could improve upon my build.

Approximate Purchase Date: If the feed back isn’t staggering, this weekend (3/25/11)
Budget Range: $2000 (my wife didn’t set a limit told me not to be stingy and regret it later)
System Usage from Most to Least Important: This will be a gaming PC, Movies (will require Blu-ray), Net Surfing (Should be able to handle these three tasks at once)
Parts Not Required: I need it all! (I do intend on using my old monitor for multi-monitor setup)
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg
Country of Origin: United States
Parts Preferences: I themed my parts selected below with blue, black and metallic in mind. (This is not a requirement)
Overclocking: Yes
SLI or Crossfire: If it offers far greater rewards to do so then, yes.
Monitor Resolution: I need a new main monitor

CPU – Intel Core i5-2500k

Motherboard – MSI P67A-GD55

GPU – EVGA GTX 580

RAM – G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB, DDR3 1600, CAS 8)

HDD – Caviar Black (640GB, SATA 6.0Gb/s)

CASE – Antec 900 Two V3 (USB 3.0 Might require additional hardware to use the motherboard header)

PSU – Antec TruePower New 750W

Media Drive – LG Black 10X Blu-ray Burner

OS – Miscrosoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

CPU Cooler - Zalman CNPS9900MAX (135mm Fan)

Monitor - SAMSUNG P2770FH (27”)

My concerns:

I wanted the single best GPU other than the GTX 590 or 6990. That way when I get more money I can buy a second one. Is this strategy flawed? Is the GTX 580 what I want for future SLI or crossfire?