Sign in with
Your question

Good workstation?

Last response: in Systems
March 25, 2011 3:51:51 PM

I'm an editor and need to build a new workstation for my freelance and personal work (and maybe some gaming too =])

Here is my build, feel free to suggest any changes.

1 -CPU: 2x Intel Xeon E5645 2.4Ghz HT 6 core, 12mb L3, 5.86 QPI, 32nm
2 - GPU: 2Gb Palit Nvidia GeForce GTX 560ti
3 - RAM: 24gb ECC Unbuffered DDR3 PC 1333 (6x 4Gb)
4 - HDD: 2x 2Tb WD Black SATA III 7200rpm drives in RAID0
5 - SSD: 60Gb OCZ Agility II SATA II drive.
6 - MOBO: HP Z800 ATX-EX Mobo - Supports dual Xeon, up to 196gb RAM (more details: http://bit.ly/fvTkWT)
Chassis: HP Z800 ATX-FULL tower
CPU cooling: HP Water cooling system (Z800)
7- Raid Controller: HighPoint RocketRAID 620 SATA III controller
8- Monitor: 2x 27" Asus LED Monitor w/webcam
9- Monitor: 23" NEC S-IPS Monitor
10- Keyboard: Logitech G510 keyboard
11- OS: Windows 7 Professional

1- $1199.98
2- $279.99
3- $389.94
4- $339.98
5- $124.99
6- $930.00
7- $59.99
8- $699.98
9- $264.99
10- $75.00
11- $139.99
Total - $4504.83 (before taxes, shipping)

The IPS monitor is for color correction. Raid controller for scalability. Potentially could buy 2x GTX 560Tis for GPU grid.

This workstation will be primary used for Adobe Premiere CS5, Adobe After Effects CS5, and Avid Media Composer 5.

Leave ya thoughts. =]

More about : good workstation

March 25, 2011 4:28:42 PM

Do you feel like spending that much?
I would drop the 2x processors and motherboards and go for a SB2600.
You would save ~$1500, and for the stuff you will be working on, you will probably not see a difference in performance (check out CUDA with NVIDIA).

Here is an example of a workstation that might work for you:
http://www.hardware-revolution.com/2500-workstation/

Also, you need power, which ~750 would do.
A better case might be useful if you are planning on adding HDs in the future. and you want it to be silent but with good airflow.

Definitely change that case.