Sign in with
Your question

3000$ 3d artist build

Last response: in Systems
March 25, 2011 9:42:50 PM

Hello this is my first time here so sorry if i did any mistakes lol

Approximate Purchase Date: This week - 1 month

Budget Range: 3000$ - 4000$

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Rendering (V ray and mental ray) , 3d modeling (3ds max and Maya) , game engines (Unity and UDK), and gaming is least important

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Anywhere is fine honestly. I have used NewEgg more but any store that is the cheapest will do fine :) 

Country of Origin: US

Parts Preferences: The best i can find for the price

Overclocking: Don't know how to over-clock

SLI or Crossfire: Don't know what that means .... I'm not to good with computer terms.

Monitor Resolution: Standard 1920-1080 is fine

Additional Comments: I'm a college student on my last 3rd year and I'm about to enter the real world soon so i want a computer that can render out sweet animations and to make video game levels using the programs i listed. My budget is about 3000$ but my family can help me out and give me an extra 1000$ i think to help. Thanks for all help !!!

More about : 3000 artist build

March 25, 2011 10:36:39 PM

As an artist and a student your first priority should be to purchase Adobe CS at the ridiculously reduced student price (80% off) before you finish school. Think this is ~$800 after discount.

Secondly, buy a Cintiq its the single best input device for artists and once again you can get a student discount on one. ~$2000

Now that you used $2800 of your budget....your down to $1200 which is just enough to buy an i5 2500k rig. Just use the system builders guide for $1000 and add an OS windows 7 64 bit Pro OEM.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-6950-unlo...

March 25, 2011 10:58:30 PM