GeForce GTS 250 SLI question

Status
Not open for further replies.

zherlthsh

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
I am getting ready to buy parts for my new computer but before i buy a graphics card i wanted to ask about an SLI ready graphic card ( GeForce GTS 250). I am new to SLI so first:

1) should i buy a different non SLI card if i am not using duel monitors or duel graphic cards (since i only intend to use one graphic card).
2) is it possible to run an SLI card in a non SLI mode to make it compatible with no SLI motherboards/power supplies(if that is possible)
3) do you HAVE to have an SLI supported motherboard/sli ready power supply if you do not intend to use it for duel monitors/duel graphic cards or in SLI mode (if you can turn it off).

The main reason i chose this card is it was the cheapest while being high end and also ranked high up in the passmarks. Like i said though i do not intend to use duel monitors or graphic cards, so should i go ahead and buy this card or should i get a different one thats non crossfire/non SLI but with the ability to play games such as Aion in at least mid-high quality.

I will be using a ASUS M4A785-M AMD 785G MB w/ X4 9850 CPU (i have made sure all of the other parts are compatible with the motherboard itself, im just not sure about the graphics card) 4-8GB DDR2 ram, and possibly either a 700w or 850w power supply (i have a couple bookmarked) depending how demanding the graphic card is. 22'in monitor, i currently have to play on 800x600, i CAN go into 1024x900 but i have really bad frame rates. about 2-5 in populated areas and 20-30fps where there are no other players. (the play resolution and fps are on my current laptop not the new desktop i am getting parts for.)

The main thing i am concerned about is that it is compatible with the motherboard and power supply (since some are SLI certified and some are not) and that would change the outcome of which power supply i buy.

Solution
G