Sign in with
Your question

First build, novice, i5 2500K for photo editing, need opinions

Last response: in Systems
March 26, 2011 10:57:32 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: Within a month or so – buying as deals come along
Budget Range: ~$1000 USD
System Usage from Most to Least Important: NO GAMING! Photoshop CS5 & CS6 (photo editing), minor video editing, Office work & Internet use. Granted, I will eventually put 1 or 2 games onto this machine, most likely Diablo 3 or an old game. Low settings don’t bother me – just need to focus on photos, data storage, internet, and office.
Parts Not Required: Speakers, mouse, keyboard, OS (WIN 7 x64)
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon, others? No microcenter near Washington
Country of Origin: US of A
Parts Preferences: Intel & NVidea
Overclocking: Yes – I have no experience doing so, but heard it is easy to OC SB to 4.0. Would like to use native mobo firmware to EASILY OC without any tweaking myself.
SLI or Crossfire: Not likely
Monitor Resolution: No clue. Looking at Dell Ultrasharp U2311H vs. LG IPS226V – need a good IPS monitor, preferably with LED backlight but can’t afford more than $200.
Additional Comments: So as you can see, I'm in the minority and will not be gaming. I am therefore not too keen on SLI/Crossfire or pricier graphics cards like the GTX 560 Ti. I do like having the option to SLI, however. I’m currently choosing between the ASUS P8P67 PRO vs. ASRock P67 Extreme4. I really want a UEFI interface, as it seems to be geared for the future and is actually pretty cool. I am leaning toward the ASUS because it seems like overclocking is “push-button” simple. I also like the MemOK! button on the P8P67 PRO and the fact that it seems to offer many more additional features than the ASRock board does - but it's hard to tell since they're different brands. It also has an Intel Gigabit Ethernet chip, which I read was pretty good in comparison to whatever the ASRock has. But would I ever know the difference?