Sign in with
Your question

Random black/blank screen, no sound computer still on

Last response: in Systems
March 27, 2011 5:29:29 AM

Hi, this is my first time posting here and I need help. My computer screen randomly turns itself off. The led on the screen indicates that it is receiving no signal from the computer. when I'm playing music, the sounds also turn off so I'm guessing that it is not a problem with the screen but with the CPU. the only way to use the computer again is to hard reset it using the power button. I check the event viewer and it shows no error related to the problem. other than it reporting that the computer shutoff or restarted unexpectedly. there is no .dmp file being created so I cant post that. the computer showed a blue screen of death (bsod) twice out of 40 times this happed. the first bsod showed an kernel_data_inpage_error with ntfs.sys. the second bsod also showed kernel_data_inpage_error but with ataport.sys. The bsod seems to suggest that I have a bad HDD so I ran CHKDSK. it showed no error. I download the disk checker from the website of the brand that made my HDD. the downloaded disk checker also showed no error. I also used memtest to check my ram. memtest showed that my ram passed the test. So the checks I did seems to indicate that both my ram and HDD are working fine. I then tried to update all my drivers. after the update, the computer still randomly turns the screen off. I then opened my computer and made sure that all the wires are properly connected. I also replace the SATA cable of my HDD thinking that it may just be a bad wire. I connected it to a different SATA port on the mother Board thinking that the old sata port is broken or something. A also palce my ram on a different ram slot. After that, it still didn't fix the problem. I am quickly running out of ideas here and any suggestion would be great. The only thing left for me to do is to reformat and reinstall windows. I doubt that will work but I cant think of anyth