Sign in with
Your question

Strangest not posting of a new build I ever seen...

Tags:
  • New Build
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
March 27, 2011 8:00:13 AM

First the parts:

• ZALMAN 9500A-LED 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
  • PNY Optima 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model MD8192KD3-1333
  • ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
  • AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDE00ZFBGRBOX

So was helping my friend with his new build. I have built now 5 computers and have had 0 problems (once built an older shuttle for my dad, the memory wouldnt work, swapped it with my memory in my shuttle and both shuttles were happy).

So I wouldn't say I am a noob at this, but I am stumped by my friends new build.

We put the sucker together (I always HATE putting the heat sink down on the chip) and for some reason the aftermarket fan I got was a bigger pain than it was in my build (his is an AMD mine is an Intel). Okay, so we get things in, hes a young kiddo and so excited to have his first bad ass machine he insists on getting all the pci cards in etc... so i let him do it, we wire up the front bits of the box to the motherboard (power switch etc)...get the power cables from the PSU in and then plug it in and try to get it to post. Nothing...there are lights on the motherboard but nothing no fans nothing. This is grim (im starting to sweat cause hes soo excited and his face is visibly distressed). So here is some of the components:

Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 AM3
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-131-...

The chip is six cores.

The PSU is the thermal take 850w modular one.

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1264&ID=18...