Sign in with
Your question

Network Setup Help Please

Last response: in Networking
January 13, 2005 10:56:42 AM

Currently we have an Pentium III 450MHz - very old and we decided she needed retiring from primary use. This machine has a 3Com Combi (3C905) network card installed but is not networked to anything else (my ex had it set up as part of a small home network where I used to live). The only means of archiving files with this old PC is with the floppy drive - there is no CD-RW on it.

Last night we ordered our new computer and I'm now worrying about how I can transfer about 7Gb of data that needs transferring from the old PC to the new one. The new PC comes with a 10/100/1000 NIC already installed as well as a wi-fi card (don't understand at all about wi-fi).

I'm thinking that the easiest way to get the data over is by setting up some sort of a network but I need some advice/help on either how I can do this or where I can get some information on it. I've never done this before and don't know how the network cards will need configuring so the PCs can 'talk' to each other. Also what sort of cable will I need - I could borrow a cable from the network at work which has the BT phone socket like connectors on both ends (think this is RJ45?). Would this work?

Also, if it helps, I'm going to be getting broadband and have decided to get a Netgear DG834 Firewall Router to run the ADSL. Will having a router make configuring the network easier or will just having a cable between the two PCs be better?

Once I've transferred the data from old PC to new one, we won't need the network as the old PC is being moved upstairs for use in the music room - it won't need any resources that the other new computer will have.

Sorry for length of this plea for help and thanks in advance for kind assistance.

Jules

Edited to say: Ooooppsss - you'll need to know this too - the old machine is Windows 98 (not SE) and the new one is going to be running XP Home Edition. Sorry, I forgot.