Fried motherboard, need help proving the cause.

bav101

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2012
Hi guys, I need some advice once again regarding a incident that happened close to a month ago now.

I bought a new psu from a online retailer after the one I had was making a whining noise, when i first heard it I switched the machine off and walked away and on another ordered a new one. I know the risks of buying a cheapish one but atm I dont have much choice in the matter after twice being made redundant.

Here's the problem, I replaced the psu (nothing was removed from the case apart from the old psu) I plugged it all in correctly (i've been building PC's for about 16 years so I know how to do it) I plugged in a new kettle lead flicked the switch on the wall and there was a white flash a bang and a burning smell. Through switching bits out i've established that its blown the CPU, mobo and memory but left the hard drives x 3 and the video card in tact as I've tested them on another machine and the drives and vid card worked fine.

I've been in contact with the retailer and they've said if i can prove that there psu killed the components they'll compensate me. I've provided them with 2 independent reports stating whats damaged and the probable cause. The faulty psu went back to the retailer they tested it and said yeah its faulty here's your money back.

But even after 2 reports they are still saying that it doesn't prove a thing k thanks bye.

Before I go to trading standards with this I was wondering if anyone knew of anything that could prove this. The motherboard itself has no blown caps no marks that I can see it just doesn't work, same goes with the CPU and memory.

I've done hours of research over the last month looking and from what I can see there is no way to prove it what so ever, I was just wondering if anyone on here could enlighten me because I'm left sitting here scratching my head.

h3sham

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2011