Sign in with
Your question

Help Me Build A Good Gaming PC

Last response: in Systems
March 27, 2011 9:25:24 PM

Hello All!!
This is my first build.
Approximate Purchase Date: A month or so if possible, but no crucial deadline.
Budget Range: The lower the better obviously, hopefully around 1000-1500.
System Usage: This is the tricky bit. I will use the computer for a lot of stuff, from animation and game design(2D and 3D), 3d modeling, graphic design, video editing, special effects, and also gaming.
Parts Not Required: Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers, Moniter, RAM, OS.
Overclocking: No.
SLI or Crossfire: Not sure what these mean, but probably not, unless you recommend it for my usage(above).
Monitor Resolution:1024x768
Additional Comments: Basically, I need to upgrade my CPU, MOBO, and Video Card. The rest I have.

Would these work together? And support 64 bit?
Intel DP55SB Motherboard
Intel Core i5-760 2.8GHz 8 MB LGA1156 Processor BX80605I5760

Also, what Video Card would you recommend that would fit my needs?

Thanks.

More about : build good gaming

March 28, 2011 1:37:09 AM

Well, what are you upgrading from? You will probalby need to add memory to your list. I would strongly suggest considering a second monitor, which is always fun when you do a lot of things all at once.

You are looking at last year's hardware here, and it was second tier then. You only have about $300 showing - do you really want to spend $1000?

All the things at the beginning of your list are CPU iintensive, so you need to soemthing stronger for a CPU - consider an 17-2600K. Gaming is last in the list and that typically determines the video card(s) you need - which games do you like, or would you play if you had a new machine?

Another factor that will influence what gets recommended are the other parts you are reusing. You may need a new power supply to hadle multiple (SLI or Crossfire) video cards, for example. Need to know what case, so that the video cards will fit.
m
l