Reading through Chapter 3 of the Asus online manual for P8Z68VPro/Gen3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lotus100

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2012
Hello All:

I am currently reading the online manual for the Asus P8Z68-V-Pro/Gen3.
I am new to learning about building a computer on my own.

Having some computer experience in my past, but not on the hardware end of things, the process of learning the lingo of our computer engineers has been quite a challenge for me. :??: I am moving along somewhat slowly but at a steady forward pace. So many things need to be understood and defined. I'm doing the best I can from online research and study.

Having you all here is much appreciated.

That being said, I am beginning to fear setting things in the BIOS for the MB (described above). I wonder if they tell you how to make the many choices you need to make in the BIOS.

Currently, I've managed to read and study up to section 3-7, page 73 of 146, in the online manual. The subject being covered now is: 3.4 Ai Tweaker menu.
There seem to be so many things I've got to set correctly. I'm kind of worried I'll set something wrong. I get that I can set things to Auto on many settings. But I still wonder about doing this correctly.

My learning goal is to get a moderate understanding of what this MB is all about and it's capabilities, etc. Again, it's been a slow process for me because I've been researching the meaning of the computer jargon used and what things mean or do.

This stuff is complicated indeed. I've all ready gone through a a few packages of Oreo's and other snacks. You know it's good for staying level headed and not getting too frustrated in the learning process. Also, I can only take so much of this stuff in at a time. Certainly, you pros out there must know what I'm talking here. Here's hoping I've made you smile.