Sign in with
Your question

Budget rig complete, what am I missing?

Last response: in Systems
March 28, 2011 11:57:16 PM

:hello: 

Hello, this is my first post, and my first "serious" build, and I realize I don't have much experience, but after reading this and other forums for a long time, I built a rig (with a budget in mind) to satisfy my gaming needs and have some room for upgrades for when my financial situation allows.

I ended up not asking questions, and using the "search" function (I know, it's not usual) to get answers, but I want your opinion on how well I did and if possible, some tips to squeeze more performance out of this thing. Also suggestions on "easy/cheap" upgrades/fixes are welcomed, along with stuff that I have missed (remember, I'm a noob when it comes to this).

Thank you for your time, here's what I have so far;

ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 AMD 880G SB850 AM3 Motherboard

AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition

Corsair A50 CPU Air Cooler

Diamond 6970 2GB (with 2 fans, looks exactly like the powercolor version)

8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Dual Channel (2x 4GB sticks)

Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1000 (1000W ATX Continuous Power Power Supply)

Seagate 1TB HDD

Pioneer DVD/RW Rom

CoolerMaster HAF-X Case, replaced the top fan with a 200MM Red LED one, and added a second one. (both top slots have 200mm red LED fans now)

24" Monitor (1920x1080 native)

Microsoft Sidewinder X6

Cyborg RAT 5 Gaming Mouse

OS is Win7 Ultimate 64bit

Everything is running stock, no OC so far.

So.. what am I missing? Is this a good budget build? Thanks in advance for any suggestions and comments.

-V-
March 29, 2011 12:09:03 AM

You're not really missing anything.

Is it a good budget build? Uh, you'll be fine. I would've saved $120 on the case and gotten a HAF 912, saved $100 on the power supply and gotten an Antec TruePower 750 W, and upgraded to an i5 2500k + $150 motherboard and then upgraded GPU to gtx 580 or so.
March 29, 2011 12:42:49 AM

mortonww said: