Sign in with
Your question

First post, first build... what do you guys think?

Last response: in Systems
March 29, 2011 3:55:10 PM

Okay, this is my first time on the site so I appologize in advance if I made any mistakes in posting this or missed a sticky I needed to read prior to posting. But here's a little run down of my situation.

First off, here is a link to the Newegg wishlist I put together.
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

I'd like to be able to do some gaming, it doesn't need to be super high quality but I'd like to play WoW (eventually Diablo 3) and get into some more PC games since I've been on a MBP the past three years.

I also plan on purchasing a 32" 1080p TV as my monitor. Planning on using this as a gaming/media center type machine for my bedroom. Is there anything that will prevent me from doing this? Will the quality be okay on such a large screen? Considering the setup will be in my bedroom I won't ever been extremely far away from the screen 4 - 6 ft max. Also, this may be a dumb question but would there be any advantage to putting a TV tuner card in the machine since I can just take my coax cable straight to the TV?

Thanks in advance for the help/advice/suggestions!

Approximate Purchase Date: 1 - 2 months

Budget Range: 600-700 after rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, web surfing, movies (including streaming movies/tv shows)

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor???, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: No particular preference, however pretty dead set on AMD CPU considering price difference and great reviews.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: ????

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Will this build be particularly loud?

More about : post build guys

March 29, 2011 4:29:35 PM

Mild gaming, ehh? GPU looks fine for that.

I do say you should change to some G-Skill RAM, just a better brand.