[RESOLVED] 6 GB RAM, 2.36 usable

richardliu_96

Honorable
Mar 4, 2012
I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OS, and I have 6 GB of RAM on my laptop. However, Windows states that only 2.36 GB of RAM is available. What could be the source of this problem?

Sorry, I'm new to this and do not know what other information could be helpful in resolving this issue.

EDIT: In the past, the laptop's RAM was much higher than the 2.36 GB it's at right now. I know this because the Window's experience rating was 7.5 for memory before, whereas today when I updated it as it had suggested, was ranked a 5.5. Furthermore, I was also able to run two memory demanding programs at once in the past, which would have exceeded the 2.36 I have available right now. I have made no changes to my computer's hardware, however it stated today that new hardware was discovered on the computer, thus requiring an update to the Windows Experience Index. Hopefully this information helps!

tajisi

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2011
Several different things could cause this. The first thing that comes to mind is that you're not actually running the 64-bit version of Windows. If you have a dedicated GPU and 32 bit windows, the computer will have to allocate some of your RAM addresses to map the GPU.

The second thing is that you would have defective RAM or a defective RAM slot.

Third thing is an integrated GPU that has went suddenly Godzilla level hungry and tried to map up all your RAM to itself.

General_Terror

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2010
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit can address 16 GB of RAM. Maybe the problem is that your laptop can't go beyond 3 GB. It would be good to know the details about the laptop ( Brand and model number ).
( A BIOS update might help but only do it if you know what you're doing )

richardliu_96

Honorable
Mar 4, 2012

It is described as 64 bit under Computer -> Properties

The graphics card is also dedicated, with 1 GB Memory.