Sign in with
Your question

Workstation building

Last response: in CPUs
July 1, 2011 5:55:06 PM

Hello, I am building a workstation.I basically have and old
desktop that I am rebuilding. I am a commodities trader and I am having commodities specific software being made also.I will be working on Three to Four screens and was wondering?Can I use a single socket motherboard or do I need two for two cpu's? Can I use just the AMD 1100T or do I need to use and AMD Operton and if so which one. (I favor AMD more then Intel that's why I only list their processor's).Thanks

Oh and which motherboard's and software(like Linux or Microsoft) do you suggest?Thanks!!!

More about : workstation building

July 1, 2011 9:28:57 PM

I would say that a 1090t is ok, as the 1100T is only .1ghz better, and i'm sure you could oc it by .1ghz. after that, a motherboard that supports crossfirex is required if you want to use four monitors (eyfinity) as there is only 1 amd GPU that supports 4 monitors on its own (other than special editions) the 6990, which is probably out of your price range if you arn't doing any gaming. I'd crossfire 2 5770's or similar, and I'd go for windows as an OS to avoid conflicts with programs, and is much more user freindly.
July 1, 2011 9:55:00 PM

carbonstyle72 said:
I would say that a 1090t is ok, as the 1100T is only .1ghz better, and i'm sure you could oc it by .1ghz. after that, a motherboard that supports crossfirex is required if you want to use four monitors (eyfinity) as there is only 1 amd GPU that supports 4 monitors on its own (other than special editions) the 6990, which is probably out of your price range if you arn't doing any gaming. I'd crossfire 2 5770's or similar, and I'd go for windows as an OS to avoid conflicts with programs, and is much more user freindly.