Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New OC Gamer needs advice for 2500k system

Last response: in Systems
March 31, 2011 3:28:56 AM

Hi everyone,

I red a lot of threads, I am almost done on fixing my grocery list on my future optimal/budget wise Gaming Rig.
I am green with Overcloking but for this new rig I would like to experiment the dark side of that power.

For a budget under 2k $ I plan to go with this, please do not hesitate to upgrade my gaming output.

CPU : 2500K it seems 2600k won't bring me much more into my game.
MOBO: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe but not sure if I have a case with USB 3.0 ports up front do I need Deluxe or EVO would do as good (seems like the same specs) ? I was thinking about the ASUS Maximum 4 Extreme but since I am a noob with OC I don't think I should spend that much on a Mobo.
RAM: g.skill ripjaws x series 8gb 1600`Mhz (latency 9) still wondering about latency 7 and the 60 $ more.
Video: That would be my greatest flaw, I am willing to spend 400 $ on this part but should I pay less and have one card for now ready for SLI or CF to later add another one for less ? I am thinking Asus ENGTX 560 Ti 1GB or the GTX 570 1280 or my other choice was the Asus EAH 6950 /2 GD5 but everyone keeps writing about EVGA cards that I cannot find at any retailers here, but only online. Is it worth the shipping instead of an ASUS card that I can get at the corner shop ? The ASUS EAH6970 / 2GD5 DCII is tempting too.
SSD : OCZ Vertex 3 130 Gb drive for OS
but what SATA 3 drive would be better to support gaming under that SSD drive ?
Case: Cooler Master HAF X, looks like one of the best air flow casing, I do not wish to put coolant tubing into my new rig... for now.
PSU: Cooler master silent pro 1000W but then again it is for a future SLI or CF, I am not sure this power supply will see it depending on my choice. Is there anything you would suggest that could suit my present need and would also fit for my future SLI configuration ?