Hyper threading

Status
Not open for further replies.

millertimeinoh

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2011
Hello,
I am a student i am not very familiar with computers.i was asked this question.) What is the advantage of hyper threading in a microprocessor? Also percentage of speed increase.i think its 30% from the research i have done

Solution

HyperThreading is Intel's trademark for simultaneous multithreading (SMT.) SMT essentially allows two threads to run on one given set of CPU core execution resources at the same time, rather than having one thread run per core. The advantage of SMT is that the second thread can be executing if the first thread does not use all of the execution resources of the core at all times. Basically this allows for the second thread to run if the first thread is stalled waiting for data, there is a branch...