Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Positive or negative air pressure? (case fan cooling)

Last response: in Components
a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2011 5:10:17 AM

hi there,is it better to have positive or negative air pressure for case cooling fans,e.g more intake vs less exhaust,i have a cooler master storm enforcer case for my gaming system(core I5 2500k..gtx 560 ti oc..cm hyper 212 cpu cooler),200mm intake fan at the front and 120mm exhaust at the rear,with the option of a 200mm fan at the top..
a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2011 5:17:39 AM

I personally like more exhaust than intakes
which creates a negative pressure
but alot of users favor the postive due to less dust getting in

I think the negative pressure reduces dead spots in the case
that too many intakes can cause

I like a straight front to back flow through case
with intakes low and exhausts higher up

Air cooling is kind of controversial and sometimes a "voodoo science"
difference cases need different setups

If you are going to do negative then make sure you have filtered
intakes
Score

Best solution

a b ) Power supply
July 3, 2011 6:20:57 AM

I've given both sides a try, and I am one who prefers positive pressure. However, I don't practice it in excess. In my 4 systems, not a single one has more than roughly +40 CFM, with the majority hovering at about +20 CFM. And yes, I choose positive pressure mostly due to the dust issue king smp mentioned, with the key element being complete filtration of the intake fan ports.

As for dead spots within a case, that's not caused by positive pressure, but a lack of circulation. It can occur in both positive and negative pressure environments. The key to avoiding them is creating a clear path/flow of air from one point to another, or several points to others.