Sign in with
Your question

Help Me on choosing Memory

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
March 8, 2012 6:53:30 PM

Hi,

I have done some search on choosing a Memory on my own but i could decide which one, so i would like get some help.
My system:
Asus Rampage III
Intel i-7 950

I was looking for a DRR3 /Tripple Channel / 6GB(Some Friends Told me get 12GB but i think its too much)
I have some Rams in mind but i would like get some opinio without telling my own.
Im Quite new with OC but i wann to learn more about it. Budget is around 300e.

More about : choosing memory

March 8, 2012 7:02:08 PM

Where will you be purchase from?
March 8, 2012 7:03:10 PM

If you are only gaming, 6gb will be enough. However, if you do anything like CAD, heavy video editing, 3D modeling, etc., 12gb would be nice.

For overclocking, head over to the overclocking section of the forums and read up. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/forum-29.html
Related resources
a b } Memory
March 8, 2012 7:04:27 PM

First of all, if you're thinking of buying this system, don't. The i7-950 is strictly inferior to current Sandy Bridge chips, and triple channel memory isn't going to do anything for you (memory bandwidth is rarely an issue in just about any scenario).

If you're just looking to drop some memory into an existing system, I'd say go with 12 GB. It might be a bit excessive, but 6 GB might not be enough depending on your usage. It won't cost much more, so you might as well go the safer route and get more than you think you'll need.

That said, pick up some DDR3-1600 with the lowest latencies you can afford. Anything faster is unnecessary, and the low latencies of 1600 will compensate for the lower speed anyway. This will get you the best bang for your buck.
March 8, 2012 7:04:46 PM