Adding Security to a Shared Network Connection

keithsmcorp

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2010
I'm working on a job site in rural Kansas and need some assistance with our network hook up. To start with I'm proficient with computers, networks and general tech issues, however I don't do any of it by trade and so I may ask some dumb questions.

I was chosen as the one to set this up for my company because, and I quote, "Well you're young so you can do anything with computers right."... Yeah something like that.

Anyway, this is what we have. There are two companies on site who will be sharing an internet connection, mine and our contractor. The contractor is taking the lead on getting phone and internet hooked up, so it will be hooked up and running to their job trailer.

We have fiber coming into into a box in the contractors job trailer. About 11 cat-5 cables come out of that box (the box itself was looked by the phone company so I can't see inside). 10 of those cat-5 run to a pass through mounted in that trailer, which will be used to run wired connections through out the trailer.

The remaining cat-5 is run directly to a D-Link wireless router. The router currently doesn't have any encryption because the contractor wants it open for anyone on the job to connect to it. There really is very little risk of anyone else connecting since the job site is 5 miles from the closest house or business.

And that is where the contractors control ends. We get a very strong signal in our job trailer and connect to the internet via the wireless connection. Everything works smooth and fast on our end, but there are two issues.

One is that we will be getting network printers and a couple of servers in our job trailer that will need a wired connection.