Sign in with
Your question

Firewall (Watchguard Edge x20e) and Wirless Router Setup

Last response: in Networking
July 28, 2010 10:27:14 PM

Hello,

Hi-I am new to setting up a Firebox and don't want to pay the $300 or more to purchase a support agreement. Here's the situation: I have a Firebox Edge Hardware Firewall X20e. and want to run my wireless network from it. In other words, I will run from my cable modem to the Firebox, and from my Firebox to a DLink wireless router. The address range in the router is 192.168.0.100-192.168.0.199. Default gateway to the router is 192.168.0.1, as you might suspect. Since I am new to setting up a Firebox, I need to know where to start. I do have drop-in mode available in the firmware...I may not need it. Can anyone help me, hopefully with a step-by-step? The wireless also needs to be able to "pass-through" and have access to the Internet. I have tried optional network setup, trusted, etc. Can anyone help? I also want to have the Firebox not respond to PING requests from the Internet (on the EXTERNAL network) and be able to keep port 48372 open on TCP and UDP. I know this is asking a lot, but I really do need help. Thanks!
July 29, 2010 12:42:20 AM

Is this for home or business us?

If you are using this hardware firewall, you will have to create rules for the firewall settings.

I tried finding a manual online to see what type of OS and filtering system it is using; however, there only seems to be a quick starter guide be available.

The Dlink router should be good enough for regular home and small office use. It will be able to block PING requests, too.

It would help to know which DLink you have to further assist you.
m
l
July 29, 2010 10:31:42 AM