Build advice on a game development /gaming + 3d animation PC

dai_katana

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2011
Hello. I want to build a new system that I can use for 3 purposes: Playing games, game development, and possibly play around with 3ds max, maya and autocad inventor (I have a free subscription to these that I'd like to make use of)... I know that Maya normally requires a workstation card but I also know that consumer grade graphics cards have also been tested and work (although not supported or recommended). That being said, I am not against a workstation build, I am just not used to them and don't know whether they'd run normal games (since workstation cards are usually a tad slower and aimed at precision rather than power if I am not mistaken).

So what would you recommend?

Approximate Purchase Date: April 10- May 30

Budget Range: Approximately 1000-1500 USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Game development, gaming, 3ds max, Maya, autocad inventor

Parts Not Required: Keyboard

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Other(s)

Country of Origin: USA (however, I may have to move to Turkey for work reasons so I am not sure whether I should buy in US and deal with the problems of warranty abroad in case of device failure)

Parts Preferences: Internationally recognized and international warranty coverage preferred (but not necessary)

Overclocking: Yes (possibly)

SLI or Crossfire: If required (but option for future should exist)

Monitor Resolution: Unsure Yet

Additional Comments: I want to be able to use this system for at least 3-4 years with upgrades along the way as necessary.

Solution
Only get a bluray if you need it, digital distribution is getting more popular than physical media. Id agree with the megamans post as that build can be a starting point but needs a case change. It even says in the article they just wanted to try something different for the case. It might also help to get 2x4Gb for ram.