In Urgent need of help! Flash updated BIOS now cant boot windows!

empathic

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2011
As the title suggests, i've made a total **** up.

I'm new to overclocking, as have been trying to update my BIOS so I can change the voltage settings etc within the BIOS.

I downloaded the ASUS updater and installed the latest 1401 ROM by flash update, restarted the pc and now when I restart, after the option to enter BIOS I get the message 'Missing operating System' on a black screen :-(

I'm really worried i've screwed things up

I've enterd BIOS and changed settings to default, saved and restarted but I still get the message.

I've also checked the Primary IDE Master to be the DVD RW, tried putting the windows disk in and nothing.

SATA 1 Is one of my 500gb hard drives, as is SATA 2.

Please help me, what can I do?!?

My system is:

Asus P5N-D motherboard
Intel q9550 2.83ghz

empathic

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2011
I tried installing the original BIOS from the cd that came with the system 'P5ND.BIN' in the EZ flash 2 BIOS ROM utility but I get the message 'Downgraded ROM file was not suitable for the system'

PLEASE HELP?!

empathic

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2011
Please guys help me out here im going to lose sleep over this :(

I just spent a load of money upgrading this pc, I hope I havnt destroyed the ROM?

What can I do to get windows running again?

biebel

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2011
Hmm, after updating your ROM BIOS the motherboard always reset to default settings automatic.

So even you save this again on default and nothing change.
Before updating you should have wrote down or take a picture of some screen settings.
As i can see now, your windows is okay as your BIOS work and boot.

You should check first if your hdd is listed in the BIOS screen, if so then you should check if the right is selected as boot.

There are to many settings in the BIOS that can make your windows not boot up any more...