Not sure what to do...

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Cases
  • ATX
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
April 5, 2011 12:14:11 AM

I just purchased a ATX mother board and a cpu only to figure out after i purchased it i have a micro atx case. so now im not really sure what to do lol. would it be better to buy a atx case to fit the board or buy a micro atx board to fit in my case now? i have presario SR5410f upgraded ram to 4g, upgraded GPU to HD4350, and installed Win7. any suggestions would be great and if you have suggestions of specific parts could u link possibly?

More about : question

a c 90 B Homebuilt system
April 5, 2011 12:17:15 AM

Hello Cored17;

The least expensive (and probably fastest) option would be to pick up an ATX case locally.
m
l
April 5, 2011 12:37:33 AM

ok well i have been looking at some Case/PSU combos on newegg but my concern is what else will i need? i mean im not a PC expert obviously but am i gonna need all new fans for everything? that kind of stuff
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
April 5, 2011 12:49:59 AM

First off - can you return the mobo/cpu and just get a different one?

Secondly - You'll only need the case; you should be able to reuse the PSU from your older computer (unless it's non-ATX). You may need a fan or two (the case product description should tell you what it comes with and what it can hold), but other than that you'll have everything.
m
l
April 5, 2011 12:55:57 AM

boiler1990 said:
First off - can you return the mobo/cpu and just get a different one?

Secondly - You'll only need the case; you should be able to reuse the PSU from your older computer (unless it's non-ATX). You may need a fan or two (the case product description should tell you what it comes with and what it can hold), but other than that you'll have everything.