Newbie help on HDD not recognized in My Computer?

clock245

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
System info below:
LIAN LI A71F
P8P67 Deluxe
2 x Corsair XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M2A1333C9
1 x Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC064MAG-1G1 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive
I7-2600K
Asus SATA 24X DVD Burner
XFX Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit Video Card
XFX Black Edition 750W 80+ SILVER Modular PSU
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Noctua NH-D14

I've installed the OS on my SSD on a SATA 3 port. I have my WD installed on a Sata 6 port. However, it does not appear in "My Computer". I see it on startup and in the boot menu. I'm a newbie so it could be something simple that i'm missing...

haphestus

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2011
Try plugging the HDD into another SATA port? See what happens.

OR

Go into the BIOS and make sure the SATA port it is plugged into is enabled. If you dont know which one, then just turn them all on.

Sweet build by the way......and let me know how you get on.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
You may not be looking in the right place. I'm assuming this is a brand new HDD with nothing on it.

You are seeing in on startup POST messages, which proves your BIOS is detecting it as valid hardware. BUT no OS (including Windows) can use a HDD that is completely empty. There are two steps of preparation needed to get the unit ready to use. Fortunately they can be done within Disk Management. You seem to know how to get to that point.