Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HAF 932 Adv. Front USB 3.0 ports can't connect to M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

Last response: in Motherboards
March 12, 2012 1:31:38 AM

Caveat #1: This is my first build.
Caveat #2: I'm female & probably shouldn't be building computers to start with (but I bore easily and like a challenge).

I freely acknowledge I've made major design mistakes. Please help me dig my way out of those mistakes?

I'm using a HAF 932 Advanced chassis with a (mistakenly purchased) M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 MOBO. Obviously, this set up does not function because there is no USB 3.0 connection on the board, let alone a 19 and/or 20 pin (which ever it's actually known as) to plug the HAF's front USB 3.0 connector into.

Now that I've figured this out, and after spending the last five hours reading every post I can find on Tom's Hardware (and any other site I can find, many of which spoke of winding cables around from the front to the back, which doesn't appeal to me - women supposedly like everything "neat & tidy") about connecting front USB 3.0 to MOBOs, I've come to the conclusion I need to ask the experts:

Am I better off to (A) give up on the M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 board (which I have much invested in, not only in $$, but by virtue of the time it took me to get the Hyper 212 cpu cooler properly installed on the M4A89GTD PRO/USB3), and get a board designed to work with the HAF 932 Adv. (if so, please suggest some such boards), or (B) buying this add in card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168..., at $99, which will kick out Rosewill's (supposedly) proprietary PCIe 2.0 x1 card that I (apparently) need to connect to my Rosewill RAID enclosure?