Solved

New rig advice

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
April 5, 2011 11:19:24 AM

I apologize in advance if this is really not the type of forum to post this kind of question. However I've been doing research on a new build. I've been using the last system I built for the last 5 years or so and it has served me well.
However, the fact I am still using XP and a lot of older equipment is starting to show. I put together some parts for a new rig. None of this is set in stone and I am not attached to anything in it. I wanted to get some advice of some experts.
I am not too drawn to SLI, I've heard it causes problems and some games don't support it. I'd rather have a single powerful card. I also care more about reliability than something being exceptionally awesome but not proven.(That bit me in the ass when I built my last PC and splurged on a 500 dollar GPU.)
I am mostly preparing for the upcoming release of Elder Scrolls: Skyrim. Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you for the time.
Case: Antec Nine Hundred
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
Motherboard: Asus P8P67
Graphics: EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX580
PSU-
CPU: Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield
RAM: 8Gb of G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
HD: 1TB WD
Sound: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

More about : rig advice

a c 90 B Homebuilt system
April 5, 2011 4:09:52 PM

Hello Vejita00;

You have a CPU (socket 1366) / motherboard (socket 1155) mis-match.
You definitely want the i5 2500K CPU (socket 1155) to with the Asus P8P67
m
l
April 5, 2011 4:18:15 PM